Another glowing book review

I was recently pointed to this glowing review of Tikman Ang Langit: An Anthology on the Eraserheads. It was written by Rome Jorge.

Excerpt:

There was a time when being a rocker meant something. You had to have balls, because it meant being an outcast. No one understood us. We, too, didn’t understand it much ourselves at the time. It was simply who we were.

Thirty bucks and a weapon search got you into Red Rocks where the toilet beside the stage always was rank, the plump girl in Goth gear always danced by herself and there would always be some punk who would get his head smashed. Bands that knew how to play their instruments were rare those days and bands that dared play their songs were even rarer. Local acts didn’t much airplay on popular radio stations back then. The only recordings you could get were musical compilations and underground audio tapes of punk bands from the Twisted Red Cross label.

Just a minor correction though. My surname is spelled as Oliva and not Olivia 😉

1 Comment

  1. Salamat at nagkaroon ng ganitong libro. Salamat sa wikipedia dahil nalaman kong may ganitong libro. At salamat sa ate ko sa pinas na pinadalhan ako ng librong ito… Pinatawa, pinaligaya at inibsan ng librong ito ang pangungulila ko sa eraserheads. sa maghahalos isang taon kong pagtigil sa lupa ng gatas at “honey”, tribute cd lang ang nabitbit ko at masasabi kong magagasgas na. kasehodang hindi maintintidihan ng mga katrabaho ko ang pinapakinggan ko. “walang pakealaman!” at dahil wala pa akong perang pambili ng ipod, umaasa na lang ako sa youtube na makarinig ng iba pa nilang kanta, lalong lalo na ang shake yer head. yun lang… gusto ko lang i-voice out este isulat pala ang masasabi ko sa mga taong mas dakilang fans pa ng eheads kesa sa akin. at sisiguraduhin kong makikilala at mapapakinggan ng anak ko ang bandang mahal natin… mabuhey! =)


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

